Faith Without Works is Dead

Faith Without Works is Dead

Submitted by:

WhiteLightning81

This entry was posted in Image, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Faith Without Works is Dead

  1. matman says:

    The UCC is awesome. They’re the exact opposite of the crazy fundie Christians. And several of their ministers are openly FABULOUS!!!

  2. Nezumi says:

    The title reminds me of Chick Tracts, which hold so strongly to faith without works that one of them is about an unrepentant murderer going to heaven just through the power of faith — not even kidding, here. Apparently, heaven is full of Nazis, crusaders, deranged serial killers, and any other person who did horrible things because they thought it was in the name of Christ.

    • Sarge says:

      There is no heaven, there is no hell, and Jesus of the bible never existed. He’s a fictional character is a fictional work. If you believe in Jesus you’ve been duped into believing in something that isn’t true.

    • TsarCat says:

      And if I insulted your religion like that, I’d… Well, you can’t do much to me over the internet -but you get my point!

      And yes, atheism is a religion.

    • Jake says:

      If lack of belief in god is a religion then not collecting stamps is a hobby.

    • JW says:

      In fairness, most people’s experience with atheists is with the pissy, “If you believe in any kind of religion, you’re a horrible person because religion is universally horrible and never associated with anything nice” kind.

      In which case, by your logic, it would be closer to “If [atheism] is a religion than spending time ranting at stamp collectors about how they’re stupid to collect stamps is a hobby.”

      Which if we look at various fandoms and the people who hate those fandoms, is not too far from the truth.

      And because I know some people are thinking it: I am neither for nor against nontheism or theism (to each their own, I figure, so long as they’re not being dicks about it), but there’s a significant difference between the vocal self-described atheists of today (who do have a fervent ideology that they just won’t shut up about), and simply “having a lack of belief in [a] god”. 😉

    • Calico says:

      That’s pretty well said. Thanks!

    • Deb says:

      I am so stealing that. My new hobby is not collecting stamps. It’s a good answer to something I hear all the time. My usual response is to point out that Walmart actually does sell dictionaries.

    • Thalia says:

      Atheists believe that God does not exist. There is no proof that God does not exist. Therefore, atheism is a religion.

    • SWS says:

      You believe that Santa does not exist. You believe Thor and Zeus and countless other gods don’t exist. You don’t believe in the tooth fairy or the easter bunny.

      Not believing in something is not a religion. I don’t believe in God because there’s no reason for me to believe in him, just as there’s no reason for me to believe in Santa or Zeus or the Tooth Fairy.

      If Disbelief in God is a religion, then not collecting stamps is a hobby.

      Of course, Christians like to say that just having FAITH is a good thing, but then when someone has beliefs that aren’t based on faith at all, but rather on rational scepticism, the religious people suddenly exclaim “YOUR DISBELIEF RELIES ON FAITH TOO WAH WAH!”

      Make up your minds.

    • Lynoth says:

      Well, you might be right. Then again, you might be wrong. The difference being, if _I’M_ wrong, I’ve lost nothing, only lived my life trying to make the world a better place. If YOU’RE wrong….well, you’d better hope that it’s me.

    • Jake says:

      No, there have been thousands of religions throughout history with just as much evidence for them as Christianity (none). What if Islam was right? what if the church of the flying spaghetti monster was right?

      And if you think that non religious people do less good deeds or get in more trouble than religious people you incredibly ignorant and arrogant.

    • geekgirl says:

      LOL, without starting a great theological debate, why is it always assumed by people like you, that the people who don’t believe in god can’t live thier lives trying to make the world a better place? I don’t need fables and fairy tales to make me a moral and just person, and I pity the person who needs a voice from on high to dictate to them how to live thier lives as good people. I think if, at the end of the day, your god exists he will judge all of us for how we lived, not who or what we worshiped.

    • Silvermistshadow says:

      The Mormons would agree with you on that last sentence.

    • mouse says:

      Pascl’s Wager… yawn.

    • Curtis Denman says:

      So true, so true … nothing to kill or die for.

    • Nezumi says:

      You… did notice I never actually claimed that heaven was real, just that it would be like that according to Chick Tracts? I’m agnostic, myself — I generally operate under the assumption that God does not exist, as it is simpler, but there’s not enough evidence either way to come to a meaningful conclusion.

    • Phoenix says:

      Who are you to say what is and is not? You are but a man. Did you set the stars in their places? Were you present when the Earth was new? Were you alive when the nails were struck? You say there is no God, yet you were not a witness to these things. If you were not a witness then you have no authority on such things, nor have you authority over heaven or hell. The fool hath said in his heart, “There is no god,” for a fool is quick to speak of things he cannot know, while the wise knows to hold his tongue.

    • st0815 says:

      The fool is quick to pronounce himself a wise man.

      You say there is not a magical teapot which flies around the world and creates the waves in the ocean. Yet you can’t be everywhere – can you be sure the teapot is not always where you are not?

      You can not prove there is no magical teapot, yet you ought to be able to see that it’s a daft idea and give it no credence. Even if someone claimed you were lacking the authority to decide that it’s a stupid idea.

    • Phoenix says:

      Choosing the most absurd example one can think of and using it as allegory does not an argument make. I have not been to Australia. How do I know it exists if I have never been there? Someone may tell me of it. I may read of it in a book. I may see it on a map, or photographs that are supposed to be of this fabled land. However, until I see it for myself, I cannot know for certain. I must decide whether I trust the testimony of those whom have told me of this thing.

      The only difference between a firm believer and a hardened skeptic is that neither can be swayed from where they are, regardless of the truth of a matter.

      Never once have I claimed to be wise, but the devil accuses night and day.

    • Heather says:

      One person’s devil is another person’s god. It’s like trash. 🙂

    • Thalia says:

      Can you prove there is no magical teapot? No. No one can. Therefore, it might be. It sounds crazy now, but the idea that the Earth traveled around the Sun once sounded crazy.

    • Skelepunk says:

      I’m adding “a magical teapot flies around the earth and makes the waves in the ocean” to my list of beliefs. It’s right there with Jesus riding a dinosaur with lasers.

  3. acolyte says:

    Nehemiah 4:9

  4. God will take care of it. Lack of faith in such matters is a sin. Any loss that I experience as a result of trusting God is a blessing in disguise.

    • JW says:

      “God helps those who help themselves” is a longstanding ethic. God certainly admonishes against laziness and pride quite a bit in the Bible.

      God may want you to trust Him, but that doesn’t mean he wants to be lazy or foolish, either. After all, as the creator of “A Christmas Story” once put it: “In God We Trust (All Others Pay Cash)”.

      God may be trustworthy, but that doesn’t mean every human being is. Heck, isn’t the point of a good chunk of the Bible’s stories to basically to point out how fallible and prone to sin humans are – thus why they need to follow God’s laws?

  5. Bal says:

    “God helps those who help themselves.”

    • st0815 says:

      God takes credit for those who help themselves, and if you can’t help yourself then he will not aid you either.

  6. E says:

    I know just where this is – of course it would be in New Hampshire.

  7. pk says:

    Well spotted, just up the hill from Lake Winnipesaukee. My grandparents used to drag us there when we were kids. Can’t remember if we’d locked the doors or not though…

  8. Hussein says:

    “Trust in God, but tie up your camel.” (Prophet Muhammad)

    http://www.amazon.com/Trust-Your-Camel-Other-Proverbs/dp/1605943592

  9. \Nsrf\! says:

    Wow, interesting discussion. I’ve enjoyed reading this. Where am I? Well, the weird thing is is that I have read more tham once that the more quantum physicists look into deep space, the more many of them see the definite fingerprint of God. How can we see such miracles that space shows us and not see that SOMEthing must have put it in motion, from the big bang to the newly discovered Gisele planet that spins in the “goldilocks’ zone and may just have life.
    I think of the hand of God also when I think of Earth. Look at the solar system. The milky way asteroid belt, I am told by National Geographic, early on sent comets over and over to THIS planet, comets made of ice that crashed and gave us water. The size of Jupider, Saturn and the moon itself protects us from that very asteroid belt from decimating this planet now (large gravitational pull brings in all the asteroids that would otherwise smack us), and I wonder what the statistics are of that happening, that two large gas giants protect a small planet in the goldilocks zone in another system.
    The more we look at our solar system the more we see how unique we are. Is it possible we are alone, or is there life out there?
    How we, with the size of the universe itself so large that we cannot even fathom it, cannot grasp it at all, understand the idea that God may have planted life somewhere else? Is it proof that God does not exist or is it proof that love, like life, only multiplies. Who are we to say where God may lay down seeds?
    It’s all too complex for me. I only hope that by the end of my life we may have made this Earth a little better for my children, who will walk it after me.

  10. Shannon says:

    Sure, a disembodied, omnipotent and omniscient being that exists outside time and space could have created the universe. Goddidit answers the “who” but doesn’t explain the “how,” “when,” “what,” or “why.” We may never discover the origin of the universe but that should not stop us from seeking answers.

    Curious though, if god can stand alone and needs no creator then why can’t the universe?

  11. Dan says:

    Finally I Christian joke! Love it haha,

    And God is real btw; I know from experience. AND you can never know for sure that God doesn’t exist- even if the world was created by chance, from infinite energy (big bang)… he could still exist! Therefore so atheism is invalid. I prefer the term strongly agnostic, you can’t be sure something supernatural doesn’t exist, you can only be sure it exist when you DO experience it.

  12. Karina the Bold says:

    Leave it to those New Hampshire-ites! They are always so pragmatic…

  13. Joee says:

    I trust in God, I don’t lock my car, my house, or anything else for that matter. And my house has never been broken into and my car is still mine. Give your possessions to God, you won’t have a problem, God takes excellent care of his things.

Leave a Reply

