Hover Cars Only

Hover Cars Only

Submitted by: Trippykiller via Oddly Specific

This wouldn’t be a problem if I had my damn flying car. Thanks for nothing, science.

This entry was posted in Image, Informational Signage, Oddly Worded, Road Signs, Unhelpful and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to Hover Cars Only

  1. Zonk! says:

    It makes sense in British English, where a “pavement” is a “sidewalk”. Parking where people are supposed to walk is a bit naughty, isn’t it?! I dunno…

    • Messmon says:

      English in general, I’m an American 12 year old and I was able to clearly understand that. I don’t know, I guess some people can’t understand the difference between the pavement and asphalt.

    • Paula says:

      Asphalt is a type of pavement. As a 12-year-old american, you should know that.

    • Messmon says:

      Yes, that’s obvious, but Asphalt is used for a street, and Pavement or concrete (depending on who you are) for the sidewalk.

    • Paula says:

      However, you have just used a word in its own definition, therefore invalidating your point.

    • Messmon says:

      First, that wasn’t a definition, I was saying how to use it, not what it meant. Second, even if it was, I don’t see where I would have used the word in its own definition. I only said, basically, Asphalt is the/a name for the street, pavement (or concrete, for some) is the name for the sidewalk.

    • Messmon says:

      P.S. I don’t even see why this conversation exists, I was just saying that it’s not only British English, for the most part, and that some people just have to have a different word for it.

    • Paula says:

      You called pavement pavement while describing how it is used, i.e. defining it. You also said that there is a difference between pavement and asphalt, then followed up by explaining how the terms can be used interchangeably.

      This conversation exists because you insulted most Americans who have never understood the term “pavement” to specifically mean “sidewalk.” You said it’s English in general, then went on to explain that it’s a term used in British English.

      You’re young yet, so there’s still time for you to learn how to stick to your guns. Unless you want to grow to be a politician. In that case, you’re well on your way to success.

    • Messmon says:

      “You said it’s English in general, then went on to explain that it’s a term used in British English.”
      Well, yeah, I guess — because British English is encompassed by “English in general.” I never said British English in particular, until the comment that you quoted.

      ” This conversation exists because you insulted most Americans who have never understood the term “pavement” to specifically mean “sidewalk.” ”
      I did not intend to insult anyone, but I guess I assumed someone would be able to understand that even though that’s not the particular word that they would have used, it still means the same thing. ( I.E, “Pavement/Sidewalk” )
      I usually say sidewalk, but from the context, I could understand immediately that they meant the sidewalk.

      At the time my first comment on this page was posted, I was feeling somewhat personally offended/bothered that a lot of the comments being posted on this site were generalizing all Americans as idiots, and wanted to try and show that not everyone over here is stupid. I wasn’t assaulting the person for their comment, god no, I was supporting them. I see now why the conversation is going, and it’s not really why you said. My “definition” didn’t come until later on, I had said “asphalt,” and you pointed out that asphalt was a type of pavement, but I said that asphalt is, though just a type of pavement, also a word for the street. I still don’t see how I used the word to be defined in its own definition, because that wasn’t even a definition. Oh well, I just don’t want to chat about something completely pointless any further, if it was possible, I’d want this conversation removed because it was really just a waste of time.

    • Messmon says:

      P.S. I find “sticking to my guns” quite easy, I am not easily swayed, unless that I decide that the other is truly correct in some ways. I changed nothing but the nature of my comments as the conversation went on.

  2. not required says:

    Pavement – Walk consisting of a paved area for pedestrians; usually beside a street or roadway

    So the sign says – If you park your car such that the tire touches the sidewalk/pavement, your vehicle will be towed.

    Don’t need a flying car for that, do you?

    • Random says:

      Pavement

      a. A hard smooth surface, especially of a public area or thoroughfare, that will bear travel.
      b. The material with which such a surface is made.

      Clearly a fail in American language.

  3. orion says:

    If your vehicle gets tired, just let it rest a while 🙂

  4. Loren Pechtel says:

    I’m going go guess it’s referring to parking.

  5. Me says:

    Fail, I fail to see the fail here, what is wrong on disallowing people parking with their wheels on the pavement?

  6. me and only me says:

    British pavement = American side-walk

    • Jim says:

      But if it’s British, wouldn’t they also say “tyres” instead of “tires”?

    • Some British Guy says:

      Well i’m British and I find that far too often American spellings creep their way into our dictionaries (i.e. sulphur is now usually spelled the American was sulfur)

  7. Paula says:

    I really want to know what “To Allow For” refers to, but that would probably ruin it. Damn tease.

  8. Jedit says:

    Of course, the pavement is distinct from the road.

    Jim – it could be a Canadian sign, I think they call them “pavements” but spell “tyres” wrong.

    • Some guy from canada says:

      Nope, we call em sidewalks in canada too

    • Acies says:

      really? i’m living in Canada right now and I have never heard of pavement == sidewalk O_O I’m quite sure Canadians use “sidewalk” to mean the strip of land pedestrians walk on… because I often see construction signs that says “pedestrians please use other sidewalk” but never “pedestrians please use other pavement” >.>

    • Sarge says:

      Acies is right. I’m a Canadian, born and raised, and I can tell you that nobody around here calls the sidewalks “Pavement.” We just call them sidewalks. Or concrete sidewalks, if you need to be oddly specific about it.

      Pavement is what we call the asphalt surfaces of roads.

    • Simon says:

      Then perhaps it is from Australia, New Zealand, or South Africa. I know for sure that South Africa uses pavement instead of sidewalk, but I’m not sure about tyre/tire.

    • Mags says:

      South Africa we say ‘walkway’ or ‘footpath’, not ‘pavement’ at least not in Johannesburg. Though, we use plenty of other odd phrasings that could get us strange looks in the rest of the world (and an inordinate amount of teasing from our Aussie family)… robots (traffic lights), bioscopes (films) bakkie’s (trucks) and tekkies (running shoes) for instance.

  9. Snurfsnarf says:

    Oh, I see what it’s saying! If the vehicle tires (gets tired), just get out and touch the pavement, and the vehicle will be towed so that it doesn’t have to keep driving! What a convenient service!

  10. CheezWoofer says:

    I’d give a foot for the flying car – left or right – crazy German scientists and their friends, be damned.

  11. D-R says:

    Maybe this sign is meant for squirrels, who have really tiny cars.

  12. Xopher says:

    They probably mean the road surface. Think: they can’t very well tow a moving car, can they? They’re talking about parked cars.

    If we assume the makers of this sign had sense (just for argument’s sake), they could have been referring to cars parking along the unpaved shoulder (gravel maybe?) of a paved road surface that isn’t wide enough for (say) a firetruck if ANY part of the car is in the road. Then the sign below could be “to allow for emergency vehicles” or some such.

    Or, of course, they could be crazy and stupid. But in this case it’s entirely possible the sign makes perfect sense in context.

  13. mr. literal says:

    Why would a hover car have tires?

  14. The Grim Reaper says:

    *Gets Justin Beiber a car*
    *Throws a tire onto there*
    NWEHEHE!

  15. says:

    You just have to hit the bump really really fast.

  16. smadge1 says:

    If Vehicle Tires. Touch Pavement. Vehicle Will Be Towed.

    Is that a threat or a promise?

  17. Devil Dan says:

    Pavements… Where we’re going we don’t need any pavements.

  18. God says:

    Yeah, us Brits call the strip of land that pedestrians walk on the “pavement”, and the tarmac/concrete bit that cars drive on the “road”.. So this sign isn’t so funny in the UK :D. Still, that seems a bit harsh.. “GAH IF YOU EVEN TOUCH THE PAVEMENT WE WILL KILL YOU OMG”.

    • Hmmm says:

      Except we spell tires tyres.

    • me says:

      And it would be if you have a wheel on the pavement… though if the tyres are touching the pavement it would still be annoying if theirs loads of people.

  19. kb says:

    I’m guessing its on a narrow road and they want any parked vehicles to be completely off the road on a gravel shoulder or grass?

  20. PsychoDad says:

    It’s gotta be British, they’re the ones who’ve turned into nazis. Smile! You’re on Candid Camera!

  21. Tim says:

    It’s obviously a riddle that you need solve in order to park there. The solution is to put 4 little carpet squares down and then park with your tires resting on them. Then they won’t tow you.

  22. SpyOne says:

    For the Brits who don’t see the fail here: in America, we call what you’d call “pavement” a sidewalk, we call what you’d call a “road” a road, but we call what you’d call “tarmac” pavement. We sometimes distinguish asphalt, but often lump in under the umbrella-term “pavement”, too.
    Thus, any car properly parked will probably have all 4 tires touching the pavement, as the alternative is parking in the dirt or grass.

    Pavement, a material used for paving, a paved surface.
    So much of British English makes perfect sense to me, but why you guys developed the notion that the “pavement” means something distinct from the roadway eludes me.

    • Carl T says:

      It would make sense if the road isn’t paved but the umm… thing beside it is. My uneducated guess is that word got its BrE meaning because of the contrast with an unpaved sidewalk, as in “You can walk on the pavement along this road”.

    • Andy B says:

      You said: “Pavement, a material used for paving, a paved surface.
      So much of British English makes perfect sense to me, but why you guys developed the notion that the “pavement” means something distinct from the roadway eludes me.”

      Well a “paved surface” made from “a material used for paving” can just as easily be a sidewalk can’t it? They are paved with paving materials too! Jeez, it makes perfect sense to call the bit you walk on the pavement. You’re the ones who put “gas” in your tanks when it’s clearly a liquid, you have bathrooms which don’t have baths in them (bathroom=a room with a bath surely?), you talk about adults “going potty” when you mean using the toilet (sorry, bathroom), and you have a game where everyone holds the ball in their hands, but you call it football – and you want to say that WE’VE confused YOU?

    • Paula says:

      wtg Andy. We really did something awful to your language. Sorry. 😦

    • Paula says:

      Oh, but in our defense, “gas” doesn’t refer to the state of matter. It’s short for “gasoline.”

    • ken from texas says:

      well the first play in any game is to kick the football, maybe thats where it came from? Gas short for gasoline, and I never said “I am going potty until I had kids. That term comes from back in the preindoor plumbing days when you would pee in a pot at night so you didn’t have to go outside or so my grandfather informed we when i asked him as a little kid repeatedly.

    • me says:

      Wait… you call Tarmac as in: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tarmac “pavement”… but it’s not for paveing… thats REALLY confuseing.
      Where i live in england “road” has two meanings, it means both the surface that vehicles are allowed too drive on, and the route it self pavements included.

      I think this sign could be on a parking area, where they don’t want you parking on the road (pavement? tarmac? “place where the cars go”?), too avoid conjestion of the roads.

  23. Keith says:

    It’s not a case of British English vs. Yank English, we just have these signs in our campgrounds to keep people from parking on the small one-way access roads. If you can’t park on your site without tires touching the paved road, you have to move to auxiliary parking by the toilets and hike back.

    • Kerflumpy says:

      Thank you!! I had to read this far down before someone explained the damn thing sensibly! Although I did have an inkling halfway down, when I finally came to realise that maybe they want people to park _away_ from the road and as far to the side (where I assumed they would want pedestrians to walk) as possible. Ah well, I got there in the end. Thanks Keith.

  24. Kai says:

    Don’t take science to task just because you can’t afford a flying car. http://tinyurl.com/ItsTheFuture

  25. CaptainD says:

    A few places that I fish here in TN it is this way. There are signs that read “vehicles must be parked off pavement” or something to that nature. It is to allow other vehicles to pass on the narrow mountain roads. They don’t tow here but you can get a ticket for it.

  26. Messmon says:

    So many comments mentioning that the British’s pavement is the American’s sidewalk, but as far as I know, most Americans use both, using the former more than latter.

  27. herpderp says:

    Now we just need to prop our car up and park on the pavement. Perhaps some pieces of cardboard or some bricks.

    I’d suggest car ramps, but that only solves the problem for two of the wheels. Adding jacks on the other two wheels would make it too easy to push the car over on its jacks, and thus make the tyres touch the pavement.

Leave a Reply

