Only in America

Funny Signs - Only in America

Submitted by: Spotted at a Harris Teeter grocery store in Chapel Hill, NC via Oddly Specific

What’s Known as a Self-Fulfilling Prophecy

This entry was posted in ...Seriously?, Advertising, Odd Combos, Store Signage and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Only in America

  1. Dave says:

    I once was in an American Diabetes Association charity walk, where they were promoting their next fundraising event — a pancake breakfast. ::headdesk::

  2. Not a commenter. says:

    This belongs on Friends of Irony.

  3. Shadowbane509 says:

    I live in that area… And I NEVER saw that sign!

  4. Lizard says:

    That’s just good biz brother. I mean come on what would happen to the Heart Association if people stopped eating hot dogs and drinking sodas?? Gotta think of the future right…

  5. Dave Lambers says:

    Moderation is key. One hot dog and soda won’t kill you.

  6. Bob says:

    My work was selling Krispy Kreme doughnuts for JDRF Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation only 3 people saw a problem with it myself and the two coworkers with diabetes…..

  7. sewalk says:

    Throw in a pack of cigarettes for a heart disease trifecta.

  8. shay!# says:

    that’s a good deal! in the uk it would cost like £3 for somthing like that

    • arsenicsauce says:

      it’s a fantastic deal. they’re normally that much here… if it’s at the movies it’s twice as much

  9. Mike sita says:

    Well in that case I’ll take ten.

  10. Alen says:

    They even spelled “association” wrong…

  11. waterdude125 says:

    i think all signs should be like this.

  12. Seibee says:

    Facepalm in action.

  13. pepper says:

    Genius!! Raising awareness of heart conditions by causing the problem. Pure genius!

  14. Kiber says:

    Investing in future…

  15. metalcraze says:

    I can’t believe ppl think one hot dog and soda can cause heart disease
    plus use it as a moronic attempt to bash america pathetic!

  16. Annalyn says:

    Seriously, it took me forever to see the perceived issue with this sign. Not sure I totally get it now, either. Hot dogs aren’t bad for you and sodas are just fine as long as you’re not drinking a 6-pack a day.

  17. BadFugu says:

    I think the idea is that the American Heart Association can raise money for when they eventually have to help the people buying all those sodas and hot dogs.

    That or its some sort of health karma thing.

  18. Joannabanana says:

    I find it really sad that I didn’t get this immediately. Oh, what has America done to me?

  19. Laser Cat says:

    “Caution automatic door” Won’t it open before you walk into it?

  20. CODY says:

    I wonder if iJustine is shopping in there?

  21. John David Galt says:

    Gee, I would have thought the heart docs would be paying the hotdog stand for sending them extra business!

  22. Broc says:

    When I saw Hot Dog & Soda I knew immediately it could not be from anywhere in the South or Midwest…

    Soda – west & east coast.

    Pop – midwest.

    Coke – the south.

Leave a Reply

