This is It?

Funny Signs - This is It?

Submitted by: Bookworm via Oddly Specific

After all that searching? I feel gypped.

This entry was posted in Crazy Places, Informational Signage and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

67 Responses to This is It?

  1. Seibee says:

    D:

    I’ve lost all sense of adventure.

  2. MiwAuturu says:

    Well, according to one theory this sign is correct. Because of the shape of the universe, every point is the same distance to all edges, thus everywhere in the universe is the centre.

    • Xenon says:

      Wait… what? Explain this theory, because that makes no sense to me.

    • Rawjava says:

      The theory goes as follows, Since no one can prove it isnt… therefore it is.

      Sources: Danny Wallace and the centre of the universe

    • Xenon says:

      That’s a pathetic theory… the centre would be wherever the big bang was.

    • Asu says:

      Assuming the universe is a four dimensional sphere, we would all be on the outside of it and could never get to the center. Or we could be in an endlessly repeating universe in which case all points would be the same distanece (infinity) from the proposed “center.” And the Big Bang didn’t take place in a specific location, seeing as how there wasn’t any space before the Big Bang.

    • Xenon says:

      I’ve never heard of the fourth dimensional sphere theory. The main theory I heard is that the universe is constantly expanding from the Big Bang’s point of origin.

    • Asu says:

      According to most theories there exists no “point of origin.”

    • Échec says:

      Yep… Universe is expanding from every point… There is no “point of origin”

    • The game says:

      Because I always know I can log onto the Cheezburger Network whenever I want to discuss quantum physics…

    • Darum says:

      Wait, in what space of multi-dimensional spheres are you? Until we are perfecly sure about the shape and geometrical area of the universe (if infinite then there is no centre), we can do nothing about it.

  3. JBT says:

    Watch out if he farts, Big Bang.

  4. Hugh says:

    Imposter! Clearly I’M the centre of the universe and IT revolves around ME! [citation needed]

    • Sheik Yerbouti says:

      No, I’m poster!

      Wait, what?

    • Hugh says:

      Ha ha! *malevolent glare* You are not as post as me! I am poster than enyone! I am the postest!

    • Hugh says:

      To Hugh: “enyone!” It’s spelled “anyone”, you douche! Oh, wait. I’m Hugh… I’m a douche! AAARGGH!!!

    • monzo says:

      Where’s the ‘Like’ button?

      Oh… I’m not on facebook anymore, am I?

    • Juniper Jupiter says:

      Obviously it doesn’t revolve around YOU…you can’t even spell CENTRE! I’ll bet you’re the kind of guy that spells that word that plays movies THEATRE!

      Do you ever use spellcheque?

    • Xenon says:

      “Clearly I’M the centre”

      “you can’t even spell CENTRE!”

      Obvious fail troll has obviously failed.

    • monzo says:

      Some countries spell it “center” while others spell it “centre”.

      colour/color
      metre/meter

      Lol spellcheque? that’s one I haven’t seen before!

    • Xenon says:

      Never mind. Obvious fail troll has still somehow succeeded…

    • bitbot says:

      No, that’s spelt CINEMA.

    • Nathalorial says:

      THEATRE is a correct spelling, dolt. The cinema is spelled ‘Theater’, while the action of being in a class or performing is spelled ‘Theatre’. I’m in a theatre class, been in theatre club for 5 years. I know this stuff.

    • Asu says:

      Spell cheque? Was this meant as irony? And centre and theatre are the accepted spellings in the UK. Although American English has it’s roots in more traditional spelling and pronunciation, neither is wrong. Language constantly evolves and these particular spellings have been around since the 1800s, far before you were born.

    • Jeremy says:

      You spell like a Brit! Ha ha. Silly Brit.

    • Xenon says:

      You sound like a racist moron! Ha ha. Silly git.

    • Don't be arrogant. says:

      Do you mean “spell-check”?
      As in the thing that checks your spelling?
      A “cheque” is the thing relating to money.

    • monzo says:

      Yeh but don’t the americans spell it “check” even when it’s the money type of cheque?

  5. Sarge says:

    OK, now that is oddly specific.

  6. briliantlyfreakish says:

    if you ever need to prove solipsism, stand by sign.

  7. przxqgl says:

    it’s also wrong… the real center of the universe is in fremont.

    • meetoo says:

      I originally thought it was Ireland. If you look at a map of the world, Ireland is in the middle, and that is where Guinness is made, so I assumed, but I apparently assumed incorrectly. Also – they have really REALLY good coffee so you may be correct. I will think on this further – your idea intrigues me.

    • meetoo says:

      Oops I meant Fremont, somewhat near Seattle, has really good coffee. Maybe I should drink some.

    • Sara says:

      I was going to say, of COURSE the center of the universe is Fremont. Doesn’t EVERYONE know that? Or just us Seattleites?

  8. Hello says:

    I’m a bit dissapointed, too… -.-

  9. A says:

    I’ve been there. I have a similar pic.

    • h bomb says:

      hey me too. wallace had a working brothel all the way into the 1980’s and is a pretty cool little town.

  10. zuf says:

    Hello, Center of the Universe!

  11. Dcypha says:

    This is in Wallace, ID I been there before… but…. it’s not the center of the universe unless the universe is… a rundown pos town

  12. tracylee says:

    Yep, we were in Wallace, ID last year and took a similar pic. It’s an old silver mining town. Lots of antiques and good bar food.

  13. Snookie_Townshend says:

    I’m so tempted to photoshop myself into that picture….

  14. Your innerself says:

    I know it!
    Center of universe is a ass black hole!

  15. Rich says:

    Zaphod?

  16. Vlet says:

    only in Roosta’s universe…

  17. Stueymon says:

    I read about Wallace in Danny Wallace and the centre of the universe, Good read too

    They reckon that since the centre of the universe could be anywhere, they reckon it’s on wallace… it’s not brilliant science, no, but it’s got its own charm

  18. cinderkeys says:

    Hey, that guy took my spot!

    (BTW, I know it wasn’t intentional, but the Roma, aka Gypsies, react to “gypped” about the same as Jewish people do to “jewed me down.”)

  19. Suestrav says:

    Crap! I hope my daughter doesn”t see this. It won’t be pretty.

  20. Nathalorial says:

    If that guy is the center of the universe, how come I have NO IDEA who he is? O.o You think he would be all over the news, like a celebrity, with no private life at all. lol XD

  21. Amber says:

    HAHA! I live up the street from the center of the universe! This is my town, Wallace, ID!

  22. Peter says:

    Well, they say the universe is infinite, if it is, anyplace could be its center. I actually somehow even feel the big bang happened somewhere near our Sun.

  23. sinisterdreams says:

    I’m pretty sure the center of the universe is Fremont Washington. This is an impostor center of the universe… FAIL! It’s the Motto for crying out loud!

    http://www.fremontseattle.com/

  24. Brooke says:

    Oh gosh… Is this in Mississippi? 🙂 My pastor is from Mississippi and he says that it has been proven that it’s the Center of the Universe.

    You wanna know how?
    Well, if you stand there at noon the sun is DIRECTLY overhead, and the horizon is at equal distances around you! XD

  25. Katie says:

    This is in Wallace, Idaho. Cute little town, went there last year on a road trip. The state was trying to demolish the town to build a super highway and the Mayor said that since it cannot be disproven that the center of the universe is in Wallace then it must be, in Wallace. Thus they cannot pave over something as EPIC as the center of the universe and the state had to build the highway on the side of the mountain and the town of Wallace, Id. was saved.

  26. Ankhtahr says:

    hm, is this the Total Perspective Vortex on Frogstar World B?

  27. RJ says:

    You’re all wrong!! Outside of the universe is a giant rainbow dolphin.

  28. bree says:

    Is it just me, or is the sign ‘shopped?

  29. The One Guy says:

    It depends what you mean by center. It could have any of these meanings:
    1. Spacial center of the universe (if the universe is a finite size, else the center is either nowhere or everywhere depending on the circumstances.)
    2. Location of the big bang
    3. Most inportant thing in the universe
    4. The shopping center of the universe
    5. Any of various sports positions for the universe’s team

    • The One Guy says:

      Er, not “depending on the circumstances;” “depending on the way you see things” is what I ment there. I haven’t a clue how I made that mix-up.

  30. thug aim says:

    the center of the universe is obviously Narnia

  31. Jared says:

    Worst photoshop edit I’ve ever seen

  32. Clarissa says:

    Hey! I’ve been here! I took a picture just like this!

  33. IRock says:

    What about me?

  34. timmy says:

    the center is at your moms p*ssy

Leave a Reply

