How Did You Know?

How Did You Know?

Submitted by: British Columbia via Oddly Specific

Joke’s on you. I always wear a bathing suit and an inflatable life jacket under my clothes.

This entry was posted in Informational Signage and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to How Did You Know?

  1. Crane says:

    I wasn’t expecting to be mauled by an Illithid either. And we can probably tell how that one turned out…

  2. Atamix says:

    well i am now…

  3. Phil says:

    Lets see…milk, eggs, coffee, dry cleaning…nope drowning is not on the list today.

  4. Mort says:

    I wasn’t expecting to be some bulls bitch either…but we’ve seen how that turned out (see previous sign)

  5. Deb G. says:

    Given how much rain we’ve had here in New England (10+ inches in my town), the sign is less funny than it otherwise might be. :-}

  6. Passerby says:

    Well, I’m not expecting the Spanish Inquisition either…

  7. CrazyNewt says:

    Gah! I hate these ads. There are a bunch of really stupid BC Hydro ads kicking around here. There’s another one warning you that electrocution is… um… BAD.

    Who knew?

  8. cinderkeys says:

    I suspect there’s supposed to be some call to action there, one that helps you avoid drowning, but I don’t see it.

  9. Cardinal Biggles says:

    A dispiriting number of people *do* expect the Spanish Inquisition these days, which is made all the more disheartening by the fact that our chief weapon is surprise.

  10. Seibee says:

    I was expecting something underneath to say ‘Well, tough luck’.

  11. boringTroll says:

    If you don’t live in or near BC, and you want to see the entire safety campaign, go to preventable.ca
    Caution, the boredom may be fatal.

  12. King Cynic says:

    Sorry, guys, but your department is NOT the first thing I think of when someone says “BC Hydro.”

  13. Koriko says:

    Is that a threat?

  14. Sexy Sadie says:

    No, I’m not.

  15. Flakdown says:

    /drown

    /me drowns.

    /exit wow

  16. heidrance says:

    Sounds like the setup for a woefully inadequate homage to Monty Python by a student improv group….

  17. mel says:

    I don’t expect to be drowned by the spanish inquisition.

  18. Mr. Fuzzy says:

    Well well, I bet ou don’t expect to have a nuclear missile thrown at you now do you?

  19. CaptainObvious says:

    I didn’t expect to read that sign today. Citizens of BC didn’t expect their taxes to be spent that way… Ok maybe they assumed anything was possible…

  20. CalendarWoman says:

    Actually, I’ve got a five-thirty appointment with the bottom of Lake Michigan.

  21. BritishColumbian says:

    i dont think of accidents first when i hear BC Hydro, i think of energy
    i dont even know how this is relavent

  22. Blahblah says:

    SURPRISE!

  23. flame says:

    it’s true noone expects to drown

    they expect to be hit by lightning

  24. G. James says:

    Hey, McFly!

  25. Micahel(Gamma) says:

    Not sure of the entire campaign but I think it at least part is to discourage people from water activities near the hydro-electric dams. People are always doing stupid things like sliding down a spillway or not thinking about just how much additional water would pass through the dam if the release valves had to be opened.

  26. Eregut says:

    WOW, how did this sign know? It’s like it just saw right through me. Could it also know that I’m not expecting to be shot, burned, buried alive, be diagnosed with cancer, be ran over, poisoned, stabbed, mauled by a falling object, become a gorilla’s plaything, experience an anti-matter reaction right on my backyard, find out that a black hole is growing at an alarmingly fast rate between Mars and Earth, a sudden second big bang? Yes, it must know…

    • Shep33 says:

      I expect to drown every day…which is precisely the reason why im still alive. Your move sign…

Leave a Reply

