That’s Not What I Heard

Submitted by: dunno source via Oddly Specific

Dainty eaters my ass. Seagulls are the garbage disposals of the sea.

This entry was posted in Rules And Regulations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to That’s Not What I Heard

  1. bigjohn756 says:

    Seagulls will eat anything including daintys(whatever they are).

    • Starshadow says:

      For the humor-impaired–this sign is satire. It’s part of what started as a long running feud between a fish and chip shop on Seattle’s waterfront which had a sign saying “Do not feed the seagulls, city ordinance” and Ivar Haglund, owner of Ivar’s Acres of Clams who posted signs that encouraged seagull feeding. The gag has continued in Ivar’s tradition by his former employees who now own the businesses.

  2. Rachelle says:

    I love this sign! It’s in Seattle. People are always standing there giving the seagulls their leftovers. There is another sign on the other side of the staircase that says: “Seagull lovers are welcome feed seagulls in need (please do not feed pidgeons).

  3. Seibee says:

    Most seaside towns over here you can get fined for feeding seagulls.

  4. BigMomma says:

    The birds!!! They’re everywhere!!! Don’t look up.

  5. Mike says:

    I know exactly where that sign is, at Ivars Acres of Clams on Alaskan Way/ the Seattle Waterfront. The gulls, on the wing, will take them right out of your hands.

  6. Emily says:

    i once watched a seagull eat a tampon.

  7. Cheryl says:

    Oh, how I love Ivar’s! And the seagulls are legendary. On the million ferry rides I used to have to take, I always loved tossing french fries to the seagulls as they flew alongside the boat.

  8. logan says:

    wooooo ivars

  9. Sonya says:

    I’ve been here! I have a video of me feeding french fries to the seagulls, it’s so much fun 🙂

  10. Tom Sawyer says:

    Anyone got any Alka-Seltzer tablets?

  11. Jeff says:

    Oh what was I thinking moving away from Seattle! I needs me some Ivars! My wife LOVED throwing the fries out and watching the gulls swoop to catch them!

  12. anomaly says:

    Sarcastic signs should be prohibited.

  13. Loren Pechtel says:

    I think what the sign is saying is that you don’t need to worry about seagulls eating too much, that says nothing about what they will eat.

  14. Sarah says:

    I has seen this sign!! Crazy! it’s in Seattle right next to Ivars! They have THE BEST clam chowder!

  15. Mara says:

    Oh gosh, I’m so embarrassed this sign actually made it on the front page! Yes, it’s from Seattle, yes it’s by Ivar’s and I think there might actually be a Seagull Society of Seattle (I wouldn’t put it past Seattle). That sign used to say, “Please do not feed the Seagulls, they can’t tell the difference between a french fry and a finger.” I’ve lived here all my life and I’ve seen tons of people get nipped cause the first sign was so true. Actually we could have a pretty lethal defense force if we could just train all those seagulls to think any incoming enemy had a supply of french fries. 😉 Kidding! (sort of)

  16. Mara says:

    Actually Anomaly, it’s not so much sarcastic (I was joking before about the Seagull Society of Seattle… really… I hope), it’s more that Ivar’s is famous for playing little practical jokes and this was one of them I think. Cause like I said before this sign used to say don’t feed them, then it was replaced with this silly one but it looks exactly like the old one, same color, same font, same little logo/picture thing on top (I said I lived here since I was a kid right? 😉 ). Recently Ivars made a fake Ivar’s sign post with the lights and everything that was supposed to look like it was made in the 1950’s and sunk it in the sound, then “found” it and said that their founder had done it back in the day as a time capsule. But it was a hoax, a joke, to make people laugh. And I think that’s why the seagull sign got changed, in the old Ivar’s spirit of having a little fun. And if that’s the case then I can live with it, but if there really is a Seagull Society of Seattle and they’re serious, I say throw them to the seagulls!!

  17. Cat of Ulthar says:

    Wow, the seagulls have learned how to write 😮

  18. Canaduck says:

    I absolutely love gulls but I have to admit it: they ARE the garbage disposals of the sea.

  19. Jessy says:

    I remember that sign! I know exactly where that is 😉 They get SO MANY french fries… poor fat, bloated seagulls.

  20. Qex says:

    Yes – I’ve been there, eaten the fish and chips, and fed the left overs to the seagulls. Ivar’s is simply the best chippy in the area; lunch was definately the highlight of the day.

  21. Mandy says:

    I have a video of one of those buggers stealing my kids chicken right off his plate!

  22. Kate says:

    I bet the seagulls wrote the sign to get more food!

Leave a Reply

