Well I’d Hate to Interrupt

Submitted by: Cambridge, UK via Oddly Specific

I’ve heard of the hills being alive with the sound of music, but never a park bench. That’s some damn talented furniture.

This entry was posted in Informational Signage, Rules And Regulations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Well I’d Hate to Interrupt

  1. Seibee says:

    I’m trying to work out how a bench could sing. And I’m stumped.

  2. Trivea says:

    Seibee: Well, however they do it, they obviously can’t while someone’s talking. Very sensitive things, benches.

  3. TheCannyScot says:

    I’ve heard of a ruling from the bench, and getting an admonishment from the bench, but never singing. Is this anything to do with a statement ex cathedra? How about a cheerleading bench? http://lovelylisting.com/2010/01/chairtuday-chairleader-tryouts.html

  4. Karen says:

    Wow, instead of ruining everything for me, after reading the following article: http://www.livescience.com/technology/050614_benches_bins.html , I want to go visit them.

  5. Charlotte says:

    Any other Cambridge people remember the singing bins by The Junction?

  6. Music-chan says:

    I….what….bu…..HUH!?

  7. D-R says:

    Where is this place? I think I’d like to visit there.

  8. Cyndy says:

    “I’m stumped”. Nice!

  9. Craig says:

    RE: Charlotte. I do! I’m glad someone else is from the Cambridge area 😀

  10. Your inner voice says:

    it seem it just a fart?

  11. LolPandaCat says:

    What a beautiful voice… *tear*

  12. Adrian says:

    We’ve got benches near where I work (Canary Wharf, London, UK) that play classical music and recite poetry, but never sing.

  13. raadec says:

    the thing that scares me the most is theres no chinese text so this is not a bad translation, this says what it is meant to say… Benches Singing… Singing Benches… Benches that Sing

  14. billy mays says:

    ssshhhhhhhh!!!!!!! i’m trying to listen to the singing benches.

  15. RainbowPoof says:

    Maybe this is at some kind of copycat Disney theme park?? Where else would a bench sing…?

  16. cinderkeys says:

    Wow, these benches get more respect than my band does when we play at coffeehouses. Now they need to invent a cappuccino machine that refuses to run until the song is over.

    cinderbridge.blogspot.com/2010/01/atmosphere-etiquette-part-2.html

  17. Sparrow says:

    Checked out the links above and now I want to go there, too.

  18. Sodium says:

    Ah the bins and benches. The benches used to sing. The trash cans used to giggle to themselves – and then roll away on hidden wheels.

    They were only supposed to be there for a short period of time, but I think they got rid of them early because the bins kept congregating in a huddle and giggling maniacally…

  19. tahrey says:

    Raadec … D-R … hopefully you’re kidding and don’t think we need to translate Cambridge-ese into English 9_9

    Location: less than two hours from me by road.

  20. Jamie says:

    So it seems there are a lot of us Cambridge people that come to on this site! Surprisingly many. Maybe we should put down the mouse and go outside instead.

  21. Dr. Mike says:

    Aah the Brits… A nation that could invent “bubble and squeak” and actually eat “sweet breads” (look that one up if you don’t know…hint:Its not bread) could do ANYTHING! Nevertheless, I love Douglas Adams (the door says..”have a nice day!”) and Terry Pratchett (damned space turtles!). Can you just imagine trying to sit down on one of these benches: “I say, could you move that extrememly large American bum over to the next bench, and have a nice day!…).

  22. Janeyferr says:

    These signs are indeed from outside The Junction. I go to the gym up there but for some reason I only hear them whilst staggering from a gig in a pissed manner.

    There’s far too many cambridge-folk on here.

  23. JeeBee says:

    Oh, the plaza next to the multi-coloured (in tasteful “hues of the seventies” colour scheme) hotel. Never seen them there myself, must have missed them. 😦

  24. Tiki says:

    <——- Still listening

  25. Karen Schroeder says:

    I sure hope they don’t sing while I’m sitting on them…could be interesting…and maybe a bit exciting?

  26. Gab says:

    Dude I’m cool right?

  27. Gab says:

    Yeah I thought so

  28. Unoriginal says:

    I’ve heard of benches drumming, getting a Ph.d at Harvard, and jogging, but never singing

  29. enthalpydubz says:

    i need to see these
    on a related note, there’s a bin that sings and plays the guitar somewhere near john’s

Leave a Reply

