Who Didn’t See That Coming?

Submitted by: Northampton, MA via Oddly Specific

Incidentally, one of my best friend’s last name is Graves.

In any case, I feel like this was probably intentional, which means that even civic planners have a sense of humor…sometimes.

This entry was posted in Road Signs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Who Didn’t See That Coming?

  1. Sean says:

    This reminds me of a Dead End sign by a grave yard where I used to live. I think they showed it on Leno too.

  2. Sean says:

    This reminds me of a Dead End sign I saw by a grave yard once. I think they had it on Leno too.

  3. chchy says:

    no i’ll just come back

  4. kvweber says:

    Quickly, turn around!

  5. MetaCarpal says:

    Oddly enough, my grandma used to live on a Graves Drive (different town, different street). Also a dead-end.

  6. DrPluton says:

    I always wanted to see a dead end sign on a one-way street.

  7. Daniel says:

    Normally, a street sign oriented like that indicates a cross-street, whereäs the “dead end” sign is oriented for the presently travelled street. Hence there is no indication that Graves Avenue is itself a dead end.

  8. the cat says:

    That makes it still funny, but also a fail: I don’t care what street I’m crossing, tell me what street I’m on now! This must be in Alberta; they do that all the time here.

  9. Miranda says:

    Is graves ave by the graveyard? Isnt it the one off market st?

    interesting.

  10. Jenn says:

    If thats the street I think it is, and the Joe’s sign in the background makes me think it is, Graves is in fact a dead end. I’ve driven past it AND visited friends there and never noticed the sign.

  11. noho says:

    I lived 50 feet from that sign.
    It is most certainly a dead end st that is adjacent to a graveyard.
    I always thought the sign was HILLARIOUS

  12. Gaz says:

    Oh the people in Noho are crazy! LOL

  13. Karen Schroeder says:

    My hubby was a planner in Texas. He was asked to name a street. Being from California he always liked seeing things from way up on a butte. So he named the street in Texas “Butte Avenue” Texans don’t know how to say butte with the ‘e’ on the end and call the street Butt without the ‘e’. I am certain that many Texans think the name of the street was a joke…I’m not sure planners really have any sense of humor.

  14. Hamp says:

    Graves Ave in Northampton is a dead end and near a cemetary, however it was named for the developer, Josiah Graves. Buildings on it (1800’s) are on the National Historic Register.

  15. Joshy says:

    so…is it like a one-way??

  16. Jim says:

    I used to live on Graves Ave. too! I rented from Mrs. Strezciwilk for a couple of years when I was in grad school years ago. It is a dead end, near a cemetery (quite historic!), but it’s not one way. Was a nice place to live.

  17. Shane says:

    I had a friend named Robin Graves.

  18. Sean says:

    well this reminds *me* of a street sign named: ‘DeLong Way’
    lozenheimer.
    lolzenheimer indeed.

  19. Twilight Xari says:

    This makes me think of a street in South Portland, ME – a dead end street called Memory Lane.

Leave a Reply

