Nice To See You Have Options

Funny Signs - Nice To See You Have Options

Submitted by: dunno source via Oddly Specific

Do you think anyone chooses option number two?

This entry was posted in Road Signs, Warning! and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Nice To See You Have Options

  1. Jeni Diver says:

    LOL! That’s a police dept I could live with. Very amusing.

  2. Lem says:

    That’s well interesting.

  3. kvweber says:

    Why such a weird fee? $109.50? You’d have to actually slow down and stop to be sure you read it right. 😄

  4. Darklady says:

    These should be attached to EVERY stop sign…. at the very least, you’d (probably) have to stop to read the whole thing.

  5. dm_punks says:

    That’s under a STOP sign. A “rolling stop” is when you cruise through a stop sign, so you get fined for not following the sign. As for the amount of the fine, maybe it’s the rate for whatever law they’ve got for it.

  6. MLD says:

    Reminds me of a joke I heard in HS.

    A guy rolls through a stop sign and is pulled over. He protests, ‘But officer, I slowed down!’ The cop takes out his baton and starts beating the guy. While doing so, he asks, ‘Do you want me to slow down, or to stop?’

  7. humor me says:

    Considering the number of people I see do this, I’d like to see that sign and the enforcement here.

  8. eriC says:

    Why do people dignify NOT coming to a stop as a kind of stop? The tires were rolling; therefore one did not stop. Simple.

  9. the cat says:

    Decent law enforcement: priceless. For everything else, there’s anarchy. Accepted at lawless hellholes everywhere.

  10. Someone says:

    I hate stop signs when they’re simply not neccesary, like on this photo. If you have a limited view to the traffic or anything stop signs are absolutely neccesary, but if you can’t see the traffic here (or children on the road or anything) you shouldn’t be driving a car in the first place.

  11. Sparrow says:

    They need something like that at the end of our street.

  12. Michael says:

    Awe, there’s one of these signs near my parents’ house. This is in my home town. I was totally gonna take a picture of it and post it here. Someone beat me to it :-{ lol

  13. Samuel says:

    “For everything else there’s mastercard”

  14. G says:

    Someone, everyone thinks they would see everything, but the practical fact is that vanishingly few of us are as observant as we think we are. If I have to waste a second stopping every time I hit a stop sign that I think didn’t need to be there, I’ll take that as what I pay to avoid hitting a child.

  15. Mike says:

    This in SE PA. They sprung up all over the place down here in the past few months. Considering PA drivers rarely signal and regard red lights/stop signs as advice and not the law, these are very welcome.

  16. Alan says:

    Do people choose option 2? C’mon, you know they’re choosing it all the time, despite the sign.

  17. elephantschild says:

    In Washington, we call those “California stops.”

    I always use option 2 at the intersection by my house because I have seniority over that stop sign. “Traffic pattern change” my foot! It just uses more gas to stop completely when I know there is no one else there!

    I look forward to explaining my point of view to a cop someday.

  18. boblothrope says:

    Does the stop sign meet MUTCD warrants? Or is it a nuisance speed control stop sign, which shouldn’t be there in the first place?

  19. Quarxyz says:

    What if they don’t slow down at all?
    Is that also free?

  20. globalynx says:

    Quarxyz, it’s free if you have collision insurance.

  21. Tina says:

    I never come to a complete stop. Would I have to report all of my free rolling stops as income on my tax return?

  22. Adam says:

    Here, option 2 is known as a South Philly slide. (this sign is in a Philly suburb)

  23. tahrey says:

    The question is, why is there a random stop sign in the middle of a street? Shouldn’t it be, I dunno, at an intersection or something?

  24. WineLong says:

    I can’t comment it because it really not cool.

  25. Michelle says:

    Elephantschild, I’m from California and we don’t even bother to call it a stop. It’s a “California coast.”

  26. Kate says:

    Does anyone else think that 109.50 is a really arbitrary and strange number to choose? They couldn’t quite make it 110?

  27. Liz says:

    Haha, I see these signs all the time. This one is pretty close to my house. And to whoever said we don’t stop or use turn signals, some do!! And the 109.50 is with all the fees. The actual fine is small, but they get you with paying for fire/rescue and other stuff. It’s crazy.

  28. Chuck says:

    Michelle, what part of California do you live in? We call it a California Roll.

  29. Karen Schroeder says:

    on a serious note…signs like this one would not be necessary if people used integrity. What is integrity? (for those who ask…) Integrity is what you do even when or if no one is looking. As for me? I choose to STOP at the stop sign because it’s there for a reason. I will stop regardless if someone is watching me or not. Integrity. Find some. ;0)

  30. Spaceflightengineer says:

    …be nice to have this at every single intersection in every community in California. People used to do occasional “Hollywood stops” when I was growing up in L.A., but full stops were the rule. It’s the reverse now. I have actually had a-holes blare their horns behind me when I come to a complete stop. I have watched (with an admitted amusement) cars slam on their brakes in my rearview mirror. And I have seen too many times the rolling stop causing accidents. Karen S. mentions integrity- that’s one of the major aspects of life in these United States that seems to have vanished….

    BP

  31. PugetSounder says:

    In Washington, a California Roll is a kind of sushi.

  32. Ben says:

    Cake… or death?

  33. RainbowKittyFxck says:

    i’m guessing that’s in Marple Twp. in PA… there’s signs like that in my town & a few other towns near me =P

  34. Tyler says:

    Maybe the first sign should be more specific. A rolling stop is still a stop.

  35. ENGINEER says:

    Option 3, go around the stop sign. EVERYBODY HAPPY!

  36. Mark Smanship says:

    The Borough of Ambler, also in SE PA, also has some that say the exact same thing (including fine), so perhaps the fine is set by state statute.

Leave a Reply

