Great, Now That’s All I Can Think Of

Submitted by: streets of Manhattan fall 2008 via Oddly Specific

This entry was posted in Road Signs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Great, Now That’s All I Can Think Of

  1. Drew says:

    I thought about it! Now what you gonna do about it?

  2. Dan says:

    Do not do it! Do not even THINK about doing it! Do not even think about NOT doing it!

  3. Seibee says:

    Or what?

  4. Sparrow says:

    You wake up and find your car’s engine in your bed.

  5. Rachel says:

    I’ve seen that sign in real life! (or one of them, anyway)

  6. cinderkeys says:

    The thought police get you.

  7. azazel says:

    Crimethink. ;P

  8. Huzzah says:

    as long as you don’t wake them.

  9. Sparrow says:

    If you don’t wake them, then the dream police get you.
    (Sorry. I was stuck at home this weekend and ended up dragging all my old Cheap Trick albums out.)

  10. Shep333 says:

    This sign is ENTRAPMENT. The very existence of it causes one to think about parking there, immediately violating the very rule the sign is trying to enforce. And it is on these grounds that i intend to sue this city for $1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000.02.

  11. David Harmon says:

    That would be from New York City — you can thank then-Mayor Cuomo for those signs.

  12. the cat says:

    I bet a lot of people would just park there without thinking at all, judging by the skills of some drivers I know. Are they OK?

  13. Andrew says:

    I saw one of those in Charleston, WV. I was like “wait, wtf?” i got a picture too 🙂

  14. Jonathan says:

    Dammit! I just took a picture of this sign on the 1st, hoping to post it here.

  15. Responder says:

    @David Harmon
    This signs started going up in the Ed Koch administration. Mario Cuomo was never Mayor of NYC, but was Governor of the NY State.

    And why *would* you think of parking in front of a median at an intersection (where this sign seems to be)?

  16. BZCoolness says:

    NO!!! THE THOUGHT POLICE ARE AFTER ME FOR THINKING ABOUT PARKING THERE!!!

  17. Anonymous says:

    I love those signs – whenever I go to rockefeller center (where this one is) I crack up 🙂

    It certainly gets your attention!

  18. A says:

    I’ve seen this in private driveways in NYC, but never seen this one and didn’t think the City would use the same tactic.

  19. fgsfds says:

    I’m not entirely sure that’s MUTCD-compliant.

  20. M.U. says:

    Isn’t this entrapment?

  21. Halfway says:

    Not to sound anal retentive like I am, but… now I’m questioning whether the plural of “bus” should look like it rhymes w/ “fuses” or should have three ‘s’s (not all in a row, of course– that’d just be silly)

  22. Nerte says:

    Ahahaha, am I the first one to say this is GTA joke? There was this kind of sign in San Andreas I think.

  23. SK says:

    There’s one of those signs in Ottawa too. I was going to post it, but then I saw this post.

  24. HelenaTroy says:

    lends new meaning to the “hop on, hop off” slogan that was doing the rounds here a while ago

Leave a Reply

