Pretty Good Shopping.

Pretty Good Shopping.

Submitted by: Nisswa, Minnesota via Oddly Specific

This entry was posted in Advertising and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Pretty Good Shopping.

  1. ;lkasdjf;lkasdf says:

    I drive by this sign all the time… I’d characterize the shopping as “Pretty Okay” though.

  2. jesi says:

    haha i have friends from nisswa… i mean, we minnesotas dont like to boast, so… its just pretty good.

  3. Dan says:

    I knew at once that this must be MN. Those Lutherans wouldn’t want to boast. It kind of seems appropriate, because, like lkasdjf said, it’s only pretty okay, and those good people wouldn’t want to seem too egotistical.

    • Dame Stickman says:

      well, us lutherans know the good lord wouldn’t want us to be prideful. the only time that’s okay is when we have the annual church lutefisk and hotdish cook off. then we go for blood, doncha kno?

  4. Igetstabby says:

    …Not great, but… good

  5. Shep333 says:

    My favorite store is in this plaza. “Meh.”

  6. Duke says:

    Right next door to Ralph’s “Pretty Good” Grocery…

  7. Velska says:

    As far as advertising goes, I am actually more convinced by this than all the “Greatest of the Greatest” in the world.

  8. Laura47 says:

    Wow, I’ve actually seen this one. We didn’t stop to shop, though; we were looking for excellent shopping. 🙂

  9. Christina says:

    I live in Nisswa, actually, and the main reason the sign is like that is because tourists actually expect us all to talk like the cute little Minnesotans from TV and such. Oh Ja, you betcha. And we are famous for being simple, modest people, I guess. So..we’re trying to be cute so the tourists are more likely to buy from us. 😀
    At first, I thought it was up here because the h in shopping looks a bit like a k. I drive by that sign almost every day and dont pay it much mind. And now it’s on the interwebs. Fancy that.

    • Ye Olde Devil says:

      “Cute litte Minnesotans”?

      There’s nothing “cute” about Jesse “The Body” Ventura, lemme tell ya!

  10. Weavemistress says:

    I used to live near there. its a Minnesota joke.

  11. thanatos says:

    Ive driven by there so many times and actually just noticed it for the first time ever on my way back to minneapolis from bemidji this holiday. Glad to see it here!

  12. Mike says:

    Man I don’t know if I could shop with all those stuck up people Nisswa. Now if they had simple said it was not bad shopping . . .

  13. JF says:

    I grew up in Nisswa and still live near by. Everyone from the town never really understood why they put that sign up…. By the way Minnesota is not a joke!

  14. JeeBee says:

    It was “Bob’s Old Crusty Donuts” shop that let the mall down.

  15. Mija says:

    Not bad, not awesome: Pretty good.

  16. Semper_Nihil says:

    Minnesota speak. We never say things like “I’m doing great” or “This is good chicken”, it’s always “Not bad” or something like that.

  17. Bruce says:

    Sam’s Sufficient Diner always leaves me feeling almost satisfied.

  18. James says:

    I saw this sign this weekend during my family reunion! It made us laugh pretty good.

Leave a Reply

